Alumni Profiles, News

Rutgers Announces 2019 Hall Of Distinguished Alumni Honorees

Rutgers Announces 2019 Hall Of Distinguished Alumni Honorees

A ground-breaking state supreme court chief justice and leaders in health care technology and banking will be inducted as the newest members of the Rutgers Hall of Distinguished Alumni this fall.

The Rutgers University Alumni Association will honor Keith Banks, vice chairman of Bank of America; Cheri Beasley, chief justice, Supreme Court of North Carolina; and Robert E. Campbell, former vice chairman of the board of directors of Johnson & Johnson on Nov. 7 at the 31st annual induction ceremony.

Learn more about their accomplishments in the financial industry, legal profession and in health care infrastructure and innovation:

Keith BanksKeith Banks
Newark College of Arts and Sciences 1977
Keith Banks is vice chairman of Bank of America and head of its Investment Solutions Group. A Chartered Financial Analyst, he is active in many civic and philanthropic causes, including longtime support for Rutgers. He is a member of the Rutgers University Board of Governors and a member of the Board of Directors of New York City’s Lincoln Center.
Cheri BeasleyCheri Beasley
Douglass College 1988
The recipient of numerous professional awards and honors, she is also an inductee into the Douglass Society, the highest honor bestowed by the Associate Alumnae of Douglass College, and the Hall of Fame of the Rutgers African-American Alumni Alliance (RAAA), Inc.
Robert E. CampbellRobert E. Campbell
Rutgers Business School 1962
A former vice chairman of the board of directors of Johnson & Johnson, Robert E. Campbell has been a driving force in both the corporate and higher education sectors. He has also played a central role in shaping the contemporary face of health care and health care institutions at Rutgers.

“These are Rutgers graduates who have broken down barriers and gone the extra mile,” said Josh Harraman, interim vice president for alumni engagement, annual giving, and advancement communications. “They show us what it means to be scarlet forever, because their achievements aren’t just for themselves—they further Rutgers’ aim to improve the human condition.”

The induction ceremony will be hosted at the Hyatt Regency in downtown New Brunswick, New Jersey.

More information about the event and the inductees can be found on the event website.

About the Rutgers Hall of Distinguished Alumni

Established in 1987, the Rutgers Hall of Distinguished Alumni recognizes alumni who, through their outstanding achievements in professional and civic life, and their dedication to their alma mater, have increased Rutgers’ positive impact on society.

To date, more than 200 graduates have been inducted into the Hall of Distinguished Alumni in Rutgers’ history. Notable honorees include actor James Gandolfini, author Janet Evanovich, news anchor Natalie Morales, actor and humanitarian Paul Robeson, Nobel Prize winners Selman Waksman and Milton Friedman, and five former New Jersey governors.

About the Rutgers University Alumni Association

The Rutgers University Alumni Association (RUAA) is a powerful network of more than 500,000 living Rutgers alumni. Membership is free for life and includes exclusive access to an amazing array of national, local, and university benefits.

Story originally appeared in Rutgers Today